Virtual Field Trips

TEC 940 - Virtual Field Trips: Taking and Making

Fresno Pacific University Center for Professional Development

A Collection of Virtual Field Trips



Meta Sites:


Virtual Field Trip Guide: United States and Canada http://www.lib.utexas.edu/geo/onlineguides.html

National Parks Conservation Association http://www.npca.org/explore_the_parks/safari/

Home Educator http://www.homeeducator.com/FamilyTimes/articles/11-4article11.htm



Individual Sites:


1492 http://sunsite.unc.edu/expo/1492.exhibit/Intro.html

A Celebration of Women Writers http://digital.library.upenn.edu/women/

A Walk Through Time http://www.nist.gov/physlab/general/time/index.cfm

African-American Classical Composer Archives  http://www.indiana.edu/~aaamc/netresources.html

Alaska http://www.alaskaone.com/index.html

All Music http://allmusic.com/

American Architecture Tour 1 http://www.bc.edu/bc_org/avp/cas/fnart/fa267/

American West Tour http://americanwest.com/

Amiens Cathedral http://www.learn.columbia.edu/Mcahweb/Amiens.html

Armagh Planetarium http://www.armaghplanet.com/html/Section_gallery.html

Australian Botanic Garden http://www.anbg.gov.au/gardens/living/index.html

Autocad Modeling – Istanbul http://www.princeton.edu/~asce/const_95/const.html

Balinese Shadow Theater http://www.balibeyond.com/shadowtheater.html

Basque Region http://buber.net/Basque/

Battle of Gettysburg http://www.gettysburg.com/

Bee Eye http://andygiger.com/science/beye/beyehome.html

Bini’s Concrete Systems  http://binisystems.com/

Birds of Fermilab http://www.fnal.gov/ecology/wildlife/site/

Birmingham Zoo Podcasts http://www.birminghamzoo.com/podcast/

Bradford Robotic Telescope http://www.telescope.org/

Brevard Zoo http://brevardzoo.org/explore

Bug Club http://www.amentsoc.org/bug-club/fun/

Bug Guide http://bugguide.net/node/view/3/bgpage

Buhl Planetarium http://www.buhlplanetarium.org/

Bullfighting http://www.donquijote.org/culture/spain/bullfight/

Cabrillo National Monument http://www.nps.gov/history/

California / Alcatraz Island http://www.nps.gov/Alcatraz

California Living Museum http://www.calmzoo.org/

California Redwoods http://sunnyfortuna.com/explore/redwoods.htm

Central Intelligence Agency https://www.cia.gov/about-cia/cia-museum/cia-museum-tour/index.html

Chateau de Versailles http://chateauversailles.fr/

Cherokee Tribe http://indians.org/welker/cherokee.htm

Cheyenne Mountain Zoo http://cmzoo.org/

Chicago Cultural Center http://www.explorechicago.org/city/en/supporting_narrative/attractions/dca_tourism/Chicago_Cultural_Center.html

Chicago Graveyards http://graveyards.com/

Civil  War Tour I http://www.civilwarhome.com/

Civil War Center http://www.cwc.lsu.edu/

Columbian Exposition 1893  http://home.comcast.net/~m.chitty/columbianexpo.htm

Coney Island http://www.westland.net/coneyisland/

Corkscrew Swamp Audubon Sanctuary http://www.corkscrew.audubon.org/Visit/BoardwalkTour.html

Department of the Air Force http://www.af.mil/

Diaries http://valley.lib.virginia.edu/

Dog Sledding http://www.sleddog.org/

Earthships http://earthship.com/begin-here

Ecuadorian Rain Forest http://eduweb.com/amazon.html

Egypt http://www.horus.ics.org.eg/en/Default_HTML.aspx

European Architecture  http://www.bc.edu/bc_org/avp/cas/fnart/arch/contents_europe.html

Federal Reserve Bank – Currency Exhibit http://www.frbsf.org/currency/index.html

Female Journalists, Photographers … http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/wcf/wcf0001.html

Florida Aquarium http://www.flaquarium.org/cm/templates/exhibits.aspx?articleid=55&zoneid=31

Fort McArthur Museum http://www.ftmac.org/index.htm

Galapagos http://www.doc.ic.ac.uk/~kpt/terraquest/galapagos/

Gargoyles – UNC http://dc.lib.unc.edu/cdm4/item_viewer.php?CISOROOT=/vir_museum&CISOPTR=1133&CISOBOX=1&REC=5

Georgia http://www.ngeorgia.com/history/

Gilbert and Sullivan Archives http://math.boisestate.edu/gas/

Grand Canyon National Park http://www.bobspixels.com/kaibab.org/

Greatest Places http://www.greatestplaces.org/

Greece and Rome  http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper

Guatemala http://www.artemaya.com/

Gulf War http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/gulf/index.html

Hands on Universe http://www.handsonuniverse.org/

Harriet Tubman http://www.pocanticohills.org/tubman/tubman.html

Harvard University  http://www.bu.edu/mfeldman/Harvard/

Holocaust http://remember.org/

Horse, History of http://www.imh.org/

Hurricane Storm Science Center http://miamisci.org/hurricane/

Israel http://www.3disrael.com/jerusalem/

Italian Villas http://boglewood.com/palladio/home.html

Jamestown, Virginia http://apva.org/

Japan http://us-japan.org/edomatsu/

Japanese American Museum http://www.janm.org/collections/

Joe Nightingale School http://72.55.11.14/public/jnschool/school/classroomwebsites.htm

John Muir Trail http://www.jmt-hiker.com/pictorial_1/pict_index.htm

Jump Rope Federation http://www.usajrf.org/

Lake Academy / Fortune, Newfoundland http://www.k12.nf.ca/lakeacademy/

Lake Big Fish http://www.cirr.com/~gensie/

Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory http://www.ldeo.columbia.edu/research/databases-repositories

Lewis and Clark Expedition http://www.nationalgeographic.com/lewisandclark/

Library of Congress Photographs http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/cwphtml/cwphome.html

Library of Congress Soviet Archives Exhibit http://www.ibiblio.org/expo/soviet.exhibit/soviet.archive.html

Library of Congress/African-American Mosaic http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/african/intro.html

Library of Congress/American Memory http://www.loc.gov/homepage/lchp.html

Lincoln Memorial, D.C. http://www.nps.gov/linc/index.htm

Loocootee Elementary School http://www.siec.k12.in.us/~west/proj/index.html

Los Alamos National Laboratory http://www.lanl.gov/history/

Louisiana State Museum http://lsm.crt.state.la.us/

Luxton Museum of Plains Indians  http://epe.lac-bac.gc.ca/100/205/301/ic/cdc/luxton/default.htm

Lviv Ukraine Architecture http://www.lvivbest.com/

Maritime Museum of British Columbia http://www.mmbc.bc.ca/

McMurdo Station http://astro.uchicago.edu/cara/vtour/

Medieval Castles – St. Patrick’s Isle http://www.isle-of-man.com/manxnotebook/towns/peel/pe_spi.htm

Medieval England http://www.regia.org/index.html

Mesopotamia http://www.sron.nl/~jheise/akkadian/

Metro Park Washington http://www.oregonzoo.org/

Michigan State University: Vincent Voice Library http://vvl.lib.msu.edu/

Michigan Tech University http://www.geo.mtu.edu/volcanoes/

Military Tour http://www.dtic.mil/bosnia/index.html

Minnesota Historical Society http://www.mnhs.org/

Mississippi Moundbuilders http://www.nps.gov/history/delta/

Missouri / St. Louis Arch http://www.nps.gov/jeff/index.htm

More Whale Watching http://www.whalewatchingtv.com/

Mt. Wilson Observatory http://www.mtwilson.edu/

Museum of New York http://www.mcny.org/

Myanmar http://www.myanmar.com/

NASA http://www.nasa.gov/

National Air and Space Museum, Smithsonian, Planets http://www.nasm.si.edu/research/ceps/etp/

National Air and Space Museum, Smithsonian, Universe http://www.nasm.si.edu/exhibitions/gal111/universe/index.htm

National Basketball Association http://www.nba.com/

National Geographic http://www.nationalgeographic.com/

National Museums and Zoo http://si.edu/Museums

National Parks Conservation Association http://www.npca.org/explore_the_parks/safari/

National Parks http://www.nps.gov/history/

National Register of Historic Places http://www.nps.gov/history/

Natural Buildings http://www.greenhomebuilding.com/

Near East, Egypt, Greek http://www.carlos.emory.edu/ODYSSEY/

Negev Desert http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jsource/vie/Hillel/Desert.html

Negro Baseball League http://www.blackbaseball.com/

Nepal http://www.care.org/vft/nepal/

New Hampshire http://portsmouthnh.com/harbourtrail/index.cfm

New Orleans  http://milvetstravel.net/no.html

New Orleans Historic Buildings http://lsm.crt.state.la.us/

New York / Central Park http://centralpark.org/

New Zealand http://www.nz.com/new-zealand/tourism/

Nike Missile Site http://nikemissile.org

Nine Planets http://nineplanets.org/

Nineteenth Century Industry http://www.bechs.org/exhibits/exhibits.htm

Northern Wisconsin http://www.northernwisconsin.com/

NRP: Classical http://www.npr.org/music/genres/classical/

Oakland Zoo http://www.oaklandzoo.org/

Ocean Planet Online http://seawifs.gsfc.nasa.gov/OCEAN_PLANET/HTML/ocean_planet_overview.html

Oklahoma City Zoological Park http://www.okczoo.com/

Online Guide to Meteorology http://ww2010.atmos.uiuc.edu/%28Gh%29/guides/home.rxml

On-line Tour #1: Berlin http://userpage.chemie.fu-berlin.de/adressen/berlin.html

On-line Tour #2 http://quest.arc.nasa.gov/antarctica/index.html

On-line Tour #2 http://www.chinapage.com/

Oregon State University http://volcano.oregonstate.edu/

Paleolithic Painted Cave http://www.culture.gouv.fr/culture/arcnat/chauvet/en/index.html

Paris http://www.ibiblio.org/wm/paris/

Paris www.paris.org

PBS American Experience Series http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/americanexperience/

Princeton University http://www.princeton.edu/~oktour/virtualtour/

Pulitzer Prize Board http://www.pulitzer.org/

Queen Mary http://www.queenmary.com/

Rainforests http://www.harlingen.isd.tenet.edu/virtualtrips/rainforest/rfindex.html

Rat Atlas http://www.loni.ucla.edu/Atlases/Atlas_Detail.jsp?atlas_id=1/Rat.html

Richard B. Dominick Moth & Butterfly Collection http://zebra.sc.edu/moth.html

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame http://www.rockhall.com

Roman Villa http://www.villa-rustica.de/indexe.html

Salem Witch Trials http://www.nationalgeographic.com/salem/

Santa Ana Zoo http://santaanazoo.org/attractb.htm

Seaworld: Shamu Cam http://www.seaworld.com/sitepage.aspx?PageID=375

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park http://www.nps.gov/seki/index.htm

Simon Wiesenthal Center (Holocaust) http://www.wiesenthal.com

Singapore http://www.museum.org.sg/WWW/

Smithsonian Underwater Pictures http://fins.actwin.com/gallery/index.php

Solar House http://solarhouse.com/

Solar System Live http://www.fourmilab.ch/solar/

South Pole Observatory http://www.esrl.noaa.gov/gmd/obop/spo/

Soviet Union / Soviet Archives http://www.ibiblio.org/expo/soviet.exhibit/soviet.archive.html

Space Telescope Science Institute http://www.stsci.edu/portal/

Taiwan http://www.gio.gov.tw/lp.asp?ctNode=4056&CtUnit=874&BaseDSD=25&mp=807

Taiwan http://www.npm.gov.tw/en/home.htm

Texas http://lsjunction.com/

Thailand http://www.asiatour.com/thailand/content1.htm

The Amazing Fishcam http://www.fishcam.com/

The Blue Highway http://thebluehighway.com/blues/

The British Museum http://www.britishmuseum.org/explore/online_tours.aspx

The Cloud Boutique http://vortex.plymouth.edu/clouds.html/

The Froggy Page http://www.frogsonice.com/froggy/

The Glass Menagerie http://absolutenglish-972.pagesperso-orange.fr/notes/uscivi/glassmenagerie/ressourcepage.htm

The NYC Ballet http://www.nycballet.com/nycb/home/

Tibet http://oak.ucc.nau.edu/wittke/Tibet/Tibet.html

Tour of the Belle http://www.thc.state.tx.us/belle/

Turkey http://www.turkishnews.com/DiscoverTurkey/

Turtle Trax http://www.turtles.org/summer/

Underground Railroad http://www.nps.gov/history/nr/travel/underground/

United Nations http://www.un.org/Pubs/CyberSchoolBus/

United States Chess Federation http://www.uschess.org/

US Holocaust Memorial Museum http://www.ushmm.org/museum/exhibit/online/

 US House of Representatives and Senate http://www.house.gov/

USA Gymnastics  http://www.usa-gymnastics.org/pages/index.html

Vermont – Fort Ethan Allen http://personalweb.smcvt.edu/thefort/

Vietnam http://www.vietvet.org/visit.htm

Virtual Keeping House: Saskatchewan http://www.sicc.sk.ca/keepinghouse/

Washington DC Tour http://washington.org/

Welsh Castles http://www.castlewales.com/home.html

Whale Watching http://www.whalewatch.ca/tour/start.htm

White House http://www.whitehouse.gov/about

Wilding Animal Farm http://www.nhusd.k12.ca.us/ALVE/ACE/ANIMALS/FARM%20ANIMALS.html

Williamsburg, Virginia http://www.history.org/

Window to Russia http://www.wtr.ru/moscow/eng/

Wolves http://www.wolf.org/wolves/index.asp

World War 1 http://worldwar1.com/

World War I http://www.loc.gov/homepage/lchp.html

World War II – Drop Zone Museum http://thedropzone.org

World War II – Women Pilots http://www.wingsacrossamerica.us/wasp/

Yellowstone National Park http://www.nps.gov/yell/index.htm

Yosemite National Park http://www.nps.gov/yose/index.htm